Key to Happiness

Key to Happiness

I may have taken the Final Destination movies a little too literally. It’s entirely possible. I mean who wants to go out because of some virtually impossible chain of events or even worse go through life feeling like they escaped death and now it’s (yes death) is chasing them down. According to the movie, a series of events started when Alex removed a luggage tag from a trip where his parents had flown safely. Blah blah blah things happen, if only Alex had left that tag, right? I, always one to take away a completely unnecessary lesson have my own little “luggage tag” that I’ve had for years.  My mom and sister had a were in a car accident years ago. A car had stalled in the right lane on 95 and they ran into the back of it. They walked away with some cuts and bruises but they walked away. During this time my mom owned a super small, two door, power steering-less Geo Metro. No one loved it but it got us around. We probably all had the best arms of our lives because you don’t realize how awesome power steering is until you don’t have it. After the accident we went to where the car had been towed to pick up some things and to see if anything was salvageable. The guy running the tow yard couldn’t believe that anyone had survived in that car and once we saw it; we couldn’t either.  There was barely a car left. Well let’s be honest it was barely a car to begin with but there was really very little left. We all just stood there looking at it completely bewildered. I was beyond thankful to still have my mom and sister.

Now what does this have to do with my taking Final Destination too literally? When we got home, I believe I was about to go out or I was going through my keys and I started to take the spare Geo key off of my key ring. I got it halfway off and stopped myself. I looked over at my mom and told her that I was keeping the key. They shouldn’t have walked away but they did. I needed that token to remember how quickly everything you love could just be gone without warning. Or for the awesome Final Destination tie in, if I had removed the key (like Alex did the luggage tag in the first movie) I would somehow remind Death that it was owed a debt or something.  What the actual hell were those movies about? I watched every single one of them and cannot for the life of me describe them to another person without sounding like I’ve lost my mind. Here’s my best attempt: Death=Sallie Mae. Pay her or she will find you wherever you are.  Seriously. You’re in danger, girl. Boom summarized.

It has been nearly a decade and I still have that key. I do look at my keys occasionally and have to remind myself what it went to but it’s still there. The reminder gets a little bigger as I get older. It reminds me now that life is short and that I need to live. Not just wake up and breathe and eat and pay taxes (and possibly Sallie Mae) but actually have those moments that make life amazeballs. Travel, take risks, edit that damn book and send it out into the world so that other people may experience it. I know that’s a lot for a key but it’s my constant. My little thing that helps me jump back on track when the darkness creeps in and things stop making sense. If I had removed the key might things have happened differently? I don’t know. I’ll never know. I do know that I’m not going to Final Destination myself into getting my head squished in an elevator door because a man holding a box of hand hooks bumps into me and the hook gets stuck in my hair and I trip.  That, I know.

 

PS. Did you get that Lost reference?

PPS. If I do happen to go out because my head gets squished in an elevator door because a man holding a box of hand hooks bumps into me and the hook gets stuck in my hair and I trip, please laugh. Laugh hard. I’m serious.

Leave a Reply

